You should go to the health office when you are not feeling well or if medication is needed. In any event the teacher whose class you are to be in at that time must know that you are with the nurse. It is your responsibility to tell the teacher.
The school and the nurse are not responsible for the dispensation of any medication except for prescriptions that must be administered during school hours by the school nurse. In order for medications to be dispensed:
The school nurse will be responsible for determining whether the medication to be dispensed falls within the parameters of the school policy. If it does not, she will notify parents, and if necessary, seek the assistance of the principal in explaining the policy to them.
The nurse may send a student home during the day. If she feels that you are sick enough to have to go home, she will contact a parent to come into school to pick you up. Students are not to call or text a parent on their own to pick them up. It is essential that contact information in our database (PowerSchool) be kept up to date by parents so that the nurse can contact the appropriate person in case of emergency.
Students should stay home from school if they are vomiting or have a fever of 100° or higher, and should stay home until they are fever free for 24 hours without medication.
Parents are asked to inform the nurses if your child has a concussion, or will be in school on crutches, in a cast, etc; or if your child will be out of school for an extended absence due to illness or hospitalization. The nurses will help ensure that the necessary arrangements are made for your student.
Massachusetts law (M.G.L. c.71, s.57 and 105CMR 200) requires physical examinations of school children within 1 year before entry into school or within 30 days after entry, and at intervals of either 3 or 4 years thereafter. In addition, the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA) requires that any student participating in an interscholastic sport must pass a physical examination prior to participation. The exam covers the student for 13 months.
Destruction of Health Records
When a student leaves Shrewsbury Public Schools, health records are transferred to the receiving school or given to a parent/guardian in their entirety whenever possible. Parents are encouraged to provide transfer information to ensure that health records follow the student. Any health records that remain at school after the student transfers, graduates, or withdraws, will be kept for 7 years and will then be destroyed in accordance with MA Dept of Education Student record regulations.
- Medications must be brought into school by your parent or caregiver
- Medications must have a doctor's order form completed indicating that the medication is to be administered during the school day.
- Welcome to Oak Middle School
- About Us
- Forms & Information
- Mental Health & Wellness Resources
- Activities & Clubs
- Oak Middle School Student Handbook 22-23
- Counselors' Page
- Forms, Applications & Downloads
- Health Education Resources (opens in new window)
- Media Center (opens in new window)
- Nursing/Health Office
- Support Organizations
- 1:1 Technology Program
- Middle School PTO (opens in new window)
- Media Center
- Nursing/Health Office (opens in new window)
- Faculty & Staff Information
- Team/Classes 2022-23
- Lunch Menu (opens in new window)
Policies & Procedures
- iPad License Rules
- SPS Concussion Policy (opens in new window)
- Prevention Education Regarding the Use of Alcohol, Tobacco/Nicotine, and Drugs by Students (opens in new window)
- Prohibition of the Use of Alcohol, Tobacco/Nicotine, and Drugs by Students (opens in new window)
- Report Card Habits of Work and Learning (HOWLS) Rubics
- Accessing Trimester Grades on the PowerSchool Parent Portal
- Supply Lists
- Oak Site Map
- Work Permits
This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.