SHREWSBURY PUBLIC SCHOOLS 100 MAPLE AVENUE SHREWSBURY, MASSACHUSETTS

MINUTES OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE EXECUTIVE SESSION 2002 Conference Room Shrewsbury High School

Tuesday, June 24, 2015

Present: Mr. John Samia, Chairperson; Ms. Sandy Fryc, Vice Chairperson; Ms. Erin Canzano, Secretary; Dr. Dale Magee; Mr. Jon Wensky; and Dr. Joseph Sawyer, Superintendent of Schools.

The School Committee held a workshop on June 24, 2015, to discuss planning for the upcoming 2015-2016 school year. Once regular business was finished, on a motion made by Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the School Committee voted unanimously to enter into executive session for the sole purpose of approving and releasing the minutes of executive session of the 2014-2015 school year. Roll call vote is as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Jon Wensky, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; and John Samia, yes.

Executive session was opened by John Samia at 5:27 pm.

Approval and Release of Executive Session minutes of the 2014-2015 school year

The dates for executive session minutes that needed to be approved and released are as follows: September 3, 2014; October 15, 2014; February 3, 2015; March 2, 2015; March 4, 2015; March 11, 2015; April 8, 2015; April 29, 2015; June 3, 2015; and June 10, 2015. Due to the fact that Jon Wensky was not on the committee for the meetings dating from September 3, 2014 to April 29, 2015, he abstained from voting on the approval and release of those minutes. He did vote in the two June executive sessions.

On a motion made by Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the committee voted unanimously with one abstention to approve the eight executive session minutes as outlined above dating from September 3, 2014 to April 29, 2015. Roll call vote is as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, abstained; and John Samia, yes.

On a motion made by Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the committee voted unanimously with one abstention to approve the release of the eight executive session minutes as outlined above dating from September 3, 2014 to April 29, 2015. Roll call vote is as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, abstained; and John Samia, yes.

On a motion made by Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the committee voted unanimously to approve the two executive session minutes dated June 3, 2015 and June 10, 2015. Roll call vote is as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, yes; and John Samia, yes.

On a motion made by Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the committee voted unanimously to approve the release of the two executive session minutes dated June 3, 2015 and June 10, 2015. Roll call vote is as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, yes; and John Samia, yes.

Adjournment

On a motion from Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, the executive session was adjourned into open session at 5:29 pm. The vote was as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, yes; and John Samia, yes.

On a motion from Dr. Dale Magee, seconded by Sandy Fryc, open session was adjourned at 5:30 pm. The vote was as follows: Dr. Dale Magee, yes; Erin Canzano, yes; Sandy Fryc, yes; Jon Wensky, yes; and John Samia, yes.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin H. Canzano, Secretary

Documents referenced:

1. Executive Session minutes of September 3, 2014; October 15, 2014; February 3, 2015; March 2, 2015; March 4, 2015; March 11, 2015; April 8, 2015; April 29, 2015; June 3, 2015; and June 10, 2015.