SHREWSBURY PUBLIC SCHOOLS 100 MAPLE AVENUE SHREWSBURY, MASSACHUSETTS

MINUTES OF SCHOOL COMMITTEE EXECUTIVE SESSION Conference Room A Shrewsbury Town Hall

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Present: Ms. Sandy Fryc, Chairperson; Dr. Dale Magee, Vice Chairperson; Mr. Jonathan Wensky, Secretary; Ms. Erin Canzano; Mr. John Samia; Dr. Joseph Sawyer, Superintendent of Schools; Ms. Mary Beth Banios, Assistant Superintendent of Schools; Ms. Barb Malone, Director of Human Resources; and Mr. Patrick Collins, Assistant Superintendent for Finances and Operations.

Sandy Fryc opened executive session at 9:43 pm.

Update on negotiations with Shrewsbury Education Association, Unit B

Barb Malone updated the committee about negotiations with Unit B. The team met with Unit B on October 27, 2016, and agreed to ground rules. The two members of the Unit B negotiating team, PJ O'Connell and Anne Koertge, shared some of the concerns of their members relating to job demands, finances and benefits but no offers were shared by either negotiating team. Two further dates were set up in December, and expectations were that both teams would have offers to present at that time.

Mr. Jon Wensky then departed.

Negotiations with the Shrewsbury Education Association, Unit A

Barb Malone updated the committee about the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA). She received the MOA today and had copies for the committee. Once the committee looked at the document and agreed to it, Sandy Fryc, as Chairperson, would sign it and give to Barb Malone to release to the SEA. Unit A has 10 school days to ratify the document, and Mr. Daniel Morgado, Town Manager, would have to vote upon it as well.

Adjournment

On a motion from Dale Magee, seconded by John Samia, executive session was adjourned into open session at 10:00 pm. Roll call votes are as follows: Erin Canzano, yes; John Samia, yes; Dale Magee, yes; and Sandy Fryc, yes.

On a motion from Dale Magee, seconded by John Samia, open session was adjourned at 10:01 pm. Roll call votes are as follows: Erin Canzano, yes; John Samia, yes; Dale Magee, yes; and Sandy Fryc, yes.
Respectfully submitted,
Erin H. Canzano
School Committee member
Documents Referenced:
Memorandum of Agreement between the Shrewsbury School Committee and the Shrewsbury Education Association